This article explains the synchronization process between Tomatoid app and Trello, available for the premium users

What can you sync

You can export tasks, projects, clients and tags. Each one of them either continually or just once. “Continually” means that any future changes of any item (task, client, …) will be updated in Trello as well. “Just once” option only creates the item, without any future updates.

Tasks

Tasks are exported in the form of a card.

The list of data exported along with each task is as follows:

  • Task name,
  • board relation (if client export is enabled),
  • list relation (if project export is enabled),
  • tags/labels (if enabled),
  • closed status.

The closed status on Trello is linked with the trashed status on Tomatoid.

Tasks (cards) sync example

Projects

Projects are exported as lists.

The list of data exported along with each project is as follows:

  • Project name,
  • board relation (if client export is enabled),
  • closed status.

The closed status on Trello is linked with the trashed status on Tomatoid.

If the boards (clients) export is not enabled, all of your project (lists) will be created in your default board.

Projects (lists) sync example

Clients

The list of data exported along with each client is as follows:

  • Each client is equal to one board.

Clients (boards) sync example

Tags

The list of data exported along with each tag is as follows:

  • Tag name,
  • board relation (usually multiple boards).

Tags (labels) sync example

How to obtain the sync Token

  1. First, log in to your Trello account.
  2. Navigate to Tomatoid sync settings and click on the “Get new token” button (figure 1).
  3. You will be asked to let Tomatoid use your account (figure 2), so choose allow.
  4. You will be redirected back to Tomatoid and the Token should now be filled in (figure 3).
  5. Don’t forget to select default board (select box right under the token).
token-step01

Figure 1 – Click on the button

token-step02

Figure 2 – Allow access

token-step03

Figure 3 – All done

Sync FAQ

  • How often does the synchronization runs?
    • The server runs everyone’s sync at least once per hour. Usually often. If you do not see any changes after 90 minutes, please let me know via the support section.
  • Will the synchronization affect any of my current or future data?
    • Tomatoid will never interfere with data not created on Tomatoid website. That means none of your current and future data created in Trello will be ever touched by the sync. Tomatoid can, however, close exported boards (clients) or lists (projects), thus hiding lists/cards created manually under them.

Troubleshooting

Something was not exported, updated or deleted properly?

First, check your sync settings.

  • Do you see your generate API Token?
  • Have you selected your default board? Does this board really exists in Trello? Is it closed?
  • Is the right export enabled? Is it set to Just once or Continually?

Second, check the sync settings right column.

  • Is there a recent date next to the Last sync heading?
  • Are there numbers indicating something happened in the Last status box?
  • Have you waited at least 1 hour before checking for the changes?

If none of the above helps, please let me know via the support section.